Leo Dehon Library: Dehonian Resources: Dehon Library Resources

Dehon Library

Sacred Heart Collection / Priests of the Sacred Heart Collection

SACRED HEART/PRIESTS OF THE SACRED HEART COLLECTIONS IN DEHON LIBRARY

1135 individual volumes
3 periodicals
861 unique titles
By Language (percentages rounded up)
- English – 486 (43%)
- French – 383 (34%)
- Italian – 123 (11%)
- German – 67 (6%)
- Latin – 44 (4%)
- Spanish – 12 (1%)
- Dutch – 11 (.9%)
- Portuguese – 7 (.6%)
- Polish – 1
- Multi – 1

DDC	SUBJECT	INDIVIDUAL ITEMS	UNIQUE TITLES
232.44	Adoration of the Sacred Heart (from a dogmatic viewpoint)	271	171
232.449	History of the Sacred Heart devotion	103	82
242/243	Meditations/Prayer books	16	15
248.71	Devotions to the Sacred Heart	313	274
271.79	Priests of the Sacred Heart	6	6
271.791	Fr. Leo John Dehon: his writings & biography	156	100
271.792	Biographies of SCJ’s	21	16
271.793	SCJ Constitutions, Rules, Directories, General Chapter decrees	56	46
271.794	Circular letters of Superiors General	11	6
271.796	Congresses and Chapter proceedings	8	5
271.798	Studies on the SCJ spirituality	87	68
271.799	History of the SCJ’s	17	15
Other	Miscellaneous subjects	70	57
		1135	861

NOTE: In a sample of 200 of these unique titles searched in OCLC[*] in 2012 almost 20% of the collection (133 titles) are one of five or fewer holdings in OCLC.

Of these 133 titles, 30% (40 titles) are the only holdings in OCLC

[*] *OCLC (Online Computer Library Center, Inc.) is a nonprofit, membership, computer library service and research organization dedicated to the public purposes of furthering access to the world’s information and reducing information costs. OCLC and its member libraries cooperatively produce and maintain WorldCat, the largest online public access catalog in the world with holding records from public and private libraries worldwide.

OCLC has a database for cataloging and searching purposes which is used by librarians and the public. As of June 2011, their database contained approximately 2 billion cataloged items. It is the world's largest bibliographic database. (“About OCLC.” OCLC. http://www.oclc.org/us/en/about/default.htm . Retrieved March 29, 2012.)

Report prepared by Ann Owen [October 2, 2014]

Dehon Library Collection Plates

Subject Headings

DEHON COLLECTION SUBJECT HEADING EXAMPLES

Dehon, Léon Gustave, 1843-1925

Dehon, Léon Gustave, 1843-1925—Canonization

Dehon, Léon Gustave, 1843-1925—Correspondence

Dehon, Léon Gustave, 1843-1925—Diaries

Dehon, Léon Gustave, 1843-1925—Meditations

Dehon, Léon Gustave, 1843-1925—Sermons

Dehon, Léon Gustave, 1843-1925—Spiritual life

Dehon, Léon Gustave, 1843-1925—Spirituality

Dehon, Léon Gustave, 1843-1925--Travels

Congregation of the Priests of the Sacred Heart

Congregation of the Priests of the Sacred Heart—Anniversaries, etc.

Congregation of the Priests of the Sacred Heart—Biography

Congregation of the Priests of the Sacred Heart—Brazil—19^th Century

Congregation of the Priests of the Sacred Heart—Cameroon—History

Congregation of the Priests of the Sacred Heart—Congresses

Congregation of the Priests of the Sacred Heart—Constitution

Congregation of the Priests of the Sacred Heart—Hales Corners, Wisc.

Congregation of the Priests of the Sacred Heart—History

Congregation of the Priests of the Sacred Heart—North American Province

Congregation of the Priests of the Sacred Heart—Prayers and devotions

Congregation of the Priests of the Sacred Heart—Rules

Congregation of the Priests of the Sacred Heart—Spirituality

Congregation of the Priests of the Sacred Heart—United States

SACRED HEART COLLECTION SUBJECT HEADING EXAMPLES

Sacred Heart

Sacred Heart, Devotion to

Sacred Heart, Devotion to—History of doctrines

Sacred Heart, Devotion to—Meditations

Sacred Heart, Devotion to—Sermons

Sacred Heart, Devotion to—Theology

Alacoque, Marguerite Marie, Saint, 1647-1690

List prepared by Ann Owen [2015]