Name and Address of Archives: SCJ USA Province Archives 7373 S. Highway 100 P.O. Box 289 Hales Corners, WI 53130-0289
Province Archivist: Rev. Ed Zemlik, SCJ
Type of Repository: Religious Order of Priests and of Brothers: Priests of the Sacred Heart of Jesus [SCJ]
Telephone: 414-427-4274
FAX: 414-425-2938
E-mail: provarch@usprovince.org
Hours: Monday - Friday, 9:00 - 4:30 p.m.
Program Description:

The Archives is open for use by SCJs, SCJ staff and researchers by appointment. Use of certain records requires the permission of the Provincial Superior and/or of the Provincial Secretary. A computerized catalogue of authors, titles and subjects headings for 2,602 content sheets is available. Fees are charged for photocopying and photograph duplication.

Collections Description:

The collecting scope consists of the instruments and writings about the spiritual and temporal affairs of the Oblates of the Sacred Heart of Jesus (1877-1878), of the Priests of the Sacred Heart of Jesus (1884- ), of the Priests of the Sacred Heart of Jesus from the German Province in the United States of America (1920-1924), of the Priests of the Sacred Heart of Jesus from the German Province with Missions in the United States of America (1925-1933), of the Priests of the Sacred Heart of Jesus from the American Province (1934-1981) and of the Priests of the Sacred Heart of Jesus from the United States of America Province (1982-present).

The SCJ USA Province Archives includes textual records, artifacts, books, periodicals, photographs and videos from the administration of 9 Superior Generals (1924- ), from 19 Provinces, 1 Confederation, 4 Regions and 4 Districts (1935- ) from the administration of 14 Provincial Superiors (1926- ) and from 36 Archdioceses/Dioceses (1834- ). These holdings include a total volume of 545 linear feet whose inclusive dates are 1834- and whose bulk dates are 1924-.

The prominent collection of Venerable Leo John Dehon (1877-1925), the Founder and First Superior General of the Congregation, includes printed copies of his manuscripts on devotion to the Sacred Heart of Jesus, on Mary, on spirituality and on social justice, his speeches, his theses, his homilies, his diaries (1843-1910), newspaper articles, his letters (1864-1925) and his circular letters as Superior General (1882-1925). These writings can be found on microfilm at Dehon Library, Sacred Heart Seminary and School of Theology, Hales Corners, WI.

The Fr. John Emonts, SCJ Museum near Dehon Library at Sacred Heart Seminary and School of Theology exhibits artifacts from the missions. An online exhibit of the Cameroon Artifacts Collection can be found at http://leodehonlibrary.libguidescom/dehonian

The following SCJ periodicals are in the reading room of the archives: Studia Dehoniana, Dehoniana (1972- ), Mission Call (1929-1948), COR (1949-1955) and Reign of the Sacred Heart (1956- ). A finding aid is available [below] for subject headings within these SCJ periodicals. Mission Call, COR and Reign of the Sacred Heart are on microfilm at Dehon Library, Sacred Heart Seminary and School of Theology, Hales Corners, WI.

(WJ 8/6/2015)