Skip to Main Content

Faculty Tool Kit

Basics

Hours: Doors are open from 8:00 a.m.–10:00 p.m.  Staff members are available for assistance Monday–Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.  Your GM50 key (outside door key) gives you 24-hour access.  
Checkout Procedures
  • The self-check system is on the desk near the stairs (MeeScan). Scan your SHSST ID bar code, then the bar code on the back cover of the book or DVD, at the TOP of the cover.
  • Faculty are allowed to check out SHSST materials for up to one year. Adjuncts are allowed to check out materials until the end of the term. Materials are subject to recall after one month.
  • Return checked out materials in the Library Book Drop next to the circulation desk.
Multifunction Printer:  You received a printing code when you got your email and Populi information. You'll need that code to make copies on the machines in the faculty ring, the library, and the mail room. Scans can be emailed or saved to USB flash drives. If you forget your printing code, you can find it under the Info tab in your Populi account.
 
All patrons are expected to abide by US Copyright law. Title 17 U.S. Code governs the making of photocopies or other reproduction of copyrighted materials. The person using this equipment is liable for any infringement.

Online Catalog — TOPCAT

SHSST is a member of the SWITCH (Southeastern Wisconsin Information Technology Exchange) consortium, composed of seven institutions of higher learning in the Milwaukee area.  The consortium, with about 1 million items, uses an online catalog (TOPCAT) to enable discovery and access to the materials in the schools’ libraries.  Library databases can be accessed from this site as well.

You may request materials directly from the other schools in the consortium, as well as check the holdings for SHSST. The URL is: https://switch-shsfds.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?sortby=rank&vid=01SLCO_SHSFDS:SHSST.  Requested materials are normally delivered to SHSST within 24 – 48 hours.  
 
In order to request materials through SWITCH, you need to use your SHSST email login and password. Please see library staff if you’d like help with your TOPCAT login and password.

Library Collections

The Leo Dehon Library houses a comprehensive theological and scriptural collection of over 85,000 volumes in a light, inviting space. The collection has special strengths in the areas of church history, social justice, Mozarabic liturgy, and canon law, and is enhanced by extensive holdings in philosophy, psychology, and the arts. The library is a major repository of materials on the devotion to, and theology and spirituality of, the Sacred Heart, as well as resources on the Priests of the Sacred Heart and Dehonian spirituality. Reference works are located on the counter-height shelves on the main floor, and are identified by “REF” preceding the call number. Books in the “REF” section are for in-library use only. Some commentaries can be checked out for brief periods; see library staff to learn more. 
 
The library has access to numerous print and electronic journal subscriptions, and provides access to databases supporting theological study and research. It also offers a substantial collection of audiovisual materials in various formats. The library website provides information about hours, services, resources, and policies as well as access to the catalog and databases.
 

Periodicals

Current print periodicals and journals are located in the reading area at the far end of the library. Bound periodicals are located on the upstairs shelves labeled “Serials,” arranged alphabetically by title. Bound volumes as well as current issues may NOT be removed from the library.
Many of our periodicals are available online through the library catalog and our databases.

Services

  • Three professional librarians are available to help you discover and locate materials at SHSST and worldwide. We also can assist you with research and navigating online resources and information systems.
  • Internet access, TOPCAT, and the Office 365 suite are available on the computer workstations in Leo Dehon Library. The library is a Wi-Fi zone; there are also drops for Internet access near the study desks on both the main and upper floors in the library. You will be able to use your laptops and mobile devices and receive help setting up device connections from library staff.  
  • The SWITCH consortium’s delivery service typically takes 24–48 hours for requested items to arrive at SHSST. You will receive an automated email when it arrives. Pick up requests on the hold shelf outside the library offices. You are responsible for renewing items online, for returning these items to Leo Dehon Library on time, and for any overdue charges or losses due to other schools.
  • InterLibrary loan for articles, books, and other materials to obtain materials not located at SHSST or within the consortium is available.  To use these services, you can place a request through the catalog, e-mail us (library@SHSST.edu) or request help from library staff. 
  • In the lower-level is the Library Annex and Remote Reference. Your GM50 key will let you into this area.

Populi

Populi is the learning management system (LMS) we use at SHSST. You will have a site for each of your courses where you can post your syllabus, reading assignments, article pdfs, links to web sites, etc. Your login is the same as your SHSST email login and password. The Research & Technology librarian can assist you with any questions.
If you are planning to put articles or other items in your course site, library staff can assist with scanning and pdf creation. Electronic reserve access must be in Populi.