Leo Dehon Library: Native American Heritage month: Honoring Native American Heritage

Priests of the Sacred Heart: Ministry among the Lakota

Fr. James Walters, SCJ and Fr. Yvon Sheehy, SCJ discuss their ministry among the Lakota People of South Dakota, and some points about the language and culture. Sponsored by the Leo Dehon Libary in honor of Native American Heritage Month, 2023..

Image credit: Native American Heritage Month. Background image is detail of Double saddle blanket, circa 1880 . National Museum of the American Indian, Smithsonian Institution. Cat.

Selected web resources for researching Native American heritage.

Native American History | National Archives
National Archive collection of resources regarding Native American History, including links to government documents, articles, photographs, blogs, and much more. Also contains link to the Indigenous Digital Archive’s Treaties Portal.
Native American Heritage Month
Collaborative portal of resources from the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum and U.S. National Archives and Records Administration.
The Land Carries our Ancestors: Contemporary Art by Native Americans
Collection of digital resources regarding the National Gallery of Art exhibition "The Land Carries our Ancestors." Includes in-depth guide to selected works, an audio guide of exhibitors explaining their works, and an essay reflecting Native Americans' ties to the land.
Indigenous Heritage | Telling all Americans' Stories
Collection of stories regarding Native American heritage, people and places from a variety of contributors, including written by park rangers, historians, anthropologists, archeologists, teachers, students, and volunteers.
Online exhibits | National Museum of the American Indian
Online interactive exhibits regarding Native American art, history, and culture. Exhibits include: A Song for the Horse Nation, Circle of Dance, and Hide: Skin as Material and Metaphor.
Native American Heritage Month | National Park Service
Resources regarding Native American heritage and history reflected in national parks throughout the United States.
Smithsonian | Native American Heritage Month
Contains links to selected feature stories, podcasts and other related resources regarding Native heritage.
National Museum of the American Indian
Quarterly digital magazine, published by the Smithsonian, regarding Native American history and current issues and challenges.
PBS Wisconsin | 6 must-watch videos to celebrate Native American Heritage

Leo Dehon Library

Native American Heritage month

A Proclamation on Native American Heritage Month, 2023

Did you know?

Priests of the Sacred Heart: Ministry among the Lakota