Leo Dehon Library: Homiletics: Homily Helps

Homily Helps - Periodical and Magazines

Sunday Homily Helps and Lectern Guide is published monthly by Franciscan Media (formerly St. Anthony Messenger Press). It is available in the library in PRINT ONLY. Each page includes a brief exegesis of all three readings with a suggested homily outline. The Lectern Guide is a supplement which includes introductions to the penitential rite and readings, and suggested general intercessions.

The Priest - Professional-interest magazine, published by Our Sunday Visitor Press. Each issue contains a one-page synopses of the Sunday readings and a reflection.

Weekday Homily Helps is published every two months by Franciscan Media (formerly St. Anthony Messenger Press). Each day's resource includes a theme, exegesis of the readings, and a homily suggestion. For a saint's feast day, there is a link to the Saint of the Day web site. This publication is available in PRINT ONLY.

Overview of Catholic Funeral Rites
Links to the U.S. bishops' web site

"Preaching the Mystery of Faith: Funerals and Weddings" Msgr. Rick Hilgartner speaks at Notre Dame at the June 2013 conference on the USCCB document, Preaching the Mystery of Faith. (This video is property of the U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops; funding provided by the John S. Marten Program in Homiletics and Liturgics, Dept. of Theology, University of Notre Dame.)

The Funeral Book for Homilists and Presiders by Eltin Griffin
Call Number: 264.643 G875
ISBN: 9781585950133
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Offers touching, inspiring words of faith and consolation in the commentaries, ideas, and above all, in the variety of moving homilies it contains. Includes making the most of the Order of Christian Funerals, evangelization, and homilies for difficult occasions, such as the death of a child or by suicide.

Preparing the Wedding Homily by Paul Turner
Call Number: 251.37 T856
ISBN: 9780893905699
Publication Date: 2003-02-01
Paul Turner, a priest and homilist, believes it is essential to involve the couple in homily preparation. He Includes reflection questions to prompt the couple to reflect on their spiritual journeys and the experience of God in their relationship. It also provides an antidote to the individualistic displays so common in modern weddings.

General Periodicals

Celebration - Published monthly by the National Catholic Reporter. Sunday & weekday homily section is entitled "Daily Bread". Online access is free with print subscription; online-only access is $50.

Magnificat - Magnificat is an easy-to-read pocket-sized worship aid of more than 400 pages. It can be used to follow the daily Mass and can also be read at home for personal or family prayer. Each issue contains: morning and evening prayers drawn from the Liturgy of the Hours; the official texts of the daily Mass; meditations written by the Fathers of the Church, along with a great variety of spiritual writings; essays on the lives of the saints; and an article giving valuable spiritual insight, into a masterpiece of sacred art. The digital-only version is $19.99 annually; the print edition is $44.95 per year, and includes digital access.

Scripture in Church - Besides reflections for the Sunday and weekday readings, this periodical includes ideas for the Prayers of the Faithful and other portions of the Mass. Published in Dublin, Ireland by Dominican Publications.

The Word Among Us - A Catholic devotional magazine based on the Mass readings with inspirational essay, stories of the saints, and other articles. The publisher also has a large variety of other resources. The online subscription is $11.95, and there is a Kindle version available for $1.99.