Skip to main content

New York Times Online: What's Included

Create a personal account to read the New York Times online.

What's Included

Today’s Paper

Today’s Paper section allows the user to read all of the current day’s print content in a digital format. Contained in this section are all of the articles found in that day’s print edition (along with corresponding page numbers).

Historical Coverage 

Full access to New York Times articles published between 1851 through 1922, and between 1981 through current day. Access to the years 1923-1980 is limited 5 articles per day.

Mobility

You can access NYTimes.com ‘on the go’ using a collection of phone and tablet apps for iPhone, iPad, Android, Windows Phone, BlackBerry, and Kindle Fire.

Search

NYTimes.com provides searchable access to articles, videos, blogs, features, interviews, obituaries, and columns. It features a single search box with result-filtering that includes date range, result type (article vs. blog), section, author and the ability to search on ‘images only.’

International Edition 

Edited from Paris, London, Hong Kong and New York, The International New York Times (formerly The International Herald Tribune) provides readers with a continuous flow of geopolitical, business, sports and culture coverage from a distinctly global perspective. Users are able to read the International Edition with simple navigational tools on both the web and mobile apps.

Newsletters, Alerts & Times Wire

NYTimes.com provides 30+ daily and weekly newsletters on topics such as Top Headlines, Breaking News, Small Business, Movies Update, and Cooking, delivered directly to the user’s inbox. The ‘What We’re Reading’ email newsletter features a roundup of great reads from around the web, chosen by New York Times reporters and editors. Custom alerts can also be created to monitor when specific keywords appear in NYTimes.com. Times Wire is a continuous stream of the latest articles and blog posts published on NYTimes.com.

Sharing & Commenting 

You may email an article (to both subscribers and non-subscribers) and share it via social media, including Facebook, Twitter, Google+, Reddit, and LinkedIn. Its cross-platform feature allows you to retrieve saved articles from the device of your choice. The permalink feature allows hyperlinks to easily be added to any Course Management System. Users are able to submit comments on each article, and will be posted upon review by the New York Times newsroom.

 

 

Librarian

Kathy Harty's picture
Kathy Harty
Contact:
414-858-4645
Website
http://leodehonlibrary.org